jump to navigation

Member Profile: Meet Kelly Landry, AmeriCorps VISTA Member at American Red Cross South Florida Region November 1, 2012

Posted by servicecorpsnews in Member Spotlight.
trackback

Kelly Landry is an AmeriCorps VISTA member assigned to the Community Blueprint Network at American Red Cross South Florida Region through the American Legion Auxiliary Call to Service Corps. In her assignment as a Service to the Armed Forces (SAF) associate, Kelly coordinates resources and services that better respond to the strengths and needs of the military community in South Florida. Prior to joining the Call to Service Corps, Kelly held positions in social services and a sales position with TAP Pharmaceuticals. Kelly has served the community by helping at the Literacy Coalition with drug and alcohol treatment services and by working with individuals with memory disorders and their families. She has also worked to provide services to homeless families through Family Promises. In addition, Kelly has been involved with the Make-A-Wish Foundation and The American Heart Association. Furthermore, she has served at a neighborhood resource center, helping individuals and families apply for food stamps and giving food assistance. Kelly holds a Master of Social Work from Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton.

 

What motivated you to serve as an AmeriCorps member?

I was raised in an environment centered on community service. My parents ingrained in me from a young age to always put others before myself. Furthermore, I served as an AmeriCorps member in my home state of Louisiana while earning my undergraduate degree. This was significant in my life and led the way to my current position as an AmeriCorps VISTA.

What motivated you to choose your sponsor organization?

My father is a combat veteran. I have always known the cost of my freedom and the responsibilities that go along with it — supporting our veterans, servicemembers and their families. I consider it an honor and my desire to serve the military community full time was a natural step upon the completion of my Master of Social Work.

I have known about the work of the American Red Cross since I was a child; my father often speaks of the emergency message and financial assistance the American Red Cross gave him when he was in the Army and needed to get home. I was motivated to become a part of the American Red Cross because of the impressive 130-year history of its Service to the Armed Forces (SAF) program, which continues today every day of the year all around the world.

About what accomplishment from your year of service are you most proud?

I am most proud to be a part of our new Transition and Reintegration Program (TRP). The program has grown naturally from the Community Blueprint. This comprehensive program promises to help our veterans and their families make a successful transition back to civilian life.

What are your future plans after your AmeriCorps service year?

I plan to continue service with the American Red Cross through Service to the Armed Forces (SAF) and the Transition Reintegration Program (TRP).

Comments»

1. Bill - April 16, 2013

Hey Kelly lost my phone and don’t have your number written down. Call me pls(new phone this afternoon) or send it via email. Williampclifton@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

