jump to navigation

Alum Profile: Nathan Brown March 28, 2013

Posted by servicecorpsnews in Alumni Spotlight.
trackback

nathan-wNathan Brown recently completed his term of service as an AmeriCorps VISTA member assigned to American Legion Auxiliary National Headquarters through the American Legion Auxiliary Call to Service Corps. In his assignment as a communication VISTA, Nathan developed and implemented communications tools and resources to mobilize Legion Family members and other community members in service targeted to poverty alleviation by and for military servicemembers, veterans and their families. Prior to joining the Call to Service Corps, Nathan held positions in the newspaper and magazine field with NUVO, the Indiana Daily Student, Inside Magazine and Fiore Magazine. Nathan has prior AmeriCorps State/National experience from his term of service at Easter Seals’ Camp Wawbeek, where he served during the summer of 2011. Nathan holds a Bachelor’s in journalism from Indiana University-Bloomington. His father served in the Marine Corps Reserves. His grandfather received a Purple Heart for his service in the Korean War.

1.     What motivated you to serve as an AmeriCorps/AmeriCorps VISTA member?

My motivations were many: when I graduated from Indiana University, my then-girlfriend, now-wife and I moved to Durango, Colorado together. She had an AmeriCorps VISTA position with the Southwest Conservation Corps. I was with her from beginning to end during her service and saw the myriad ups and down, the successes and the not-so-successful. At the end of her service, I could tell she was transformed by her experience, not only on a personal level, but professional as well. I wanted that experience myself and sought a position that would enable me to take my career to the next level.

2.     What motivated you to choose your sponsor organization?

I have a lot of family in the military: one cousin in the Air Force, an uncle in the Air Force, my father was in the Marine Corps and my grandfather is a Marine Corps veteran who earned a purple heart in the Korean conflict.

3.     About what accomplishment from your service year are you most proud?

There are too many accomplishments to just list one. From a big-picture perspective, I’m extremely proud to have helped build the capacity of such a long-standing and well-respected organization. It’s always an amazing feeling and so reassuring to hear others at the American Legion Auxiliary say to me that without my help project X, Y, Z wouldn’t have been completed for a long time, if ever.

4.     What message would you like to share with individuals considering national service opportunities generally, and/or assignments with the ALA Call to Service Corps specifically?

This AmeriCorps position is actually my second. I did a half-term of service as an AmeriCorps member when I worked at an Easter Seals camp for people with disabilities. I can honestly say that because of my AmeriCorps experiences, I have had some amazing life-changing experiences, become a stronger individual and become more confident in my skills. That being said, national service is not something you do for the money. It’s something you do to improve yourself and the lives of others. What you get out of it is entirely up to you.

5.     What are your future plans, if known?

For right now, I plan to do freelance writing and photography.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

