jump to navigation

Meet Taylor Yehling: AmeriCorps VISTA Member with The Mission Continues June 10, 2013

Posted by servicecorpsnews in Member Spotlight.
trackback

Taylor Yehling is an AmeriCorps VISTA member assigned to The Mission Continues through the American Legion Auxiliary Call to Service Corps. In her assignment as a communications coordinator, Taylor develops and distributes all branded marketing materials, signage and merchandise, and assists with social media, marketing and public relations. Taylor holds a bachelor’s in communication and psychology from the University of Missouri.

Taylor Yehling and Eric Greitens

1.     What motivated you to serve as an AmeriCorps/AmeriCorps VISTA member?

Throughout my college summers, I spent a lot of time doing mission work in Nicaragua. I worked side by side with individuals who began to piece their lives together re-find purpose after losing everything they once knew to a natural disaster. I was inspired by the positivity and perseverance of the Nicaraguan communities and I began searching for opportunities to fuel this inspiration back home.

When it came time to decide my future course during my senior year of college, I knew I was called to a greater role in service to my community. After a service project with The Mission Continues, the staff introduced me to the AmeriCorps VISTA program and invited me to serve full-time as a part of their team. I did some research and decided to take that challenge.

2.     What motivated you to choose your sponsor organization?

I started volunteering at the Harry S. Truman Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Columbia, Mo. during my senior year of college. After interacting and familiarizing myself with the veteran community, I was moved by their great acts of courage, constant perseverance and inspiring stories. It was not long after that I learned about The Mission Continues, a national community organization that helps post-9/11 veterans transition from the military to service and leadership roles at home. I volunteered at one of the organization’s service projects and instantly connected with their mindset of dedicating time, energy, heart and passion to people re-finding their purpose and living to their full potential.

3.     About what accomplishment from your service year are you most proud?

As a member of the Communications Team at The Mission Continues, I have had a tremendous professional development experience. In the last eight months, I obtained a Google AdWords Grant for $10,000/month and designed communications collateral used for raising awareness and stewarding donors. Additionally, I have assisted in The Mission Continues participation in social campaigns, including the Clinton Global Initiative and The Giving Library.

I could not be more proud to be a part of such an innovative and unique organization.

4.     What message would you like to share with individuals considering national service opportunities generally, and/or assignments with the ALA Call to Service Corps specifically?

If you are someone considering a national service opportunity or an assignment with the ALA Call to Service Corps, I can guarantee you won’t regret your decision to pursue this calling. Over the last eight months, I have learned lessons of courage, dedication and perseverance that will enrich my life well into the future. Click here to read a blog post I wrote entitled “What You Gain When You Give,” which describes in more detail the insight my VISTA year has given me.

5.     What are your future plans, if known?

My VISTA experience has been incredible. I hope to stay on as a full-time staff member with The Mission Continues at the conclusion of my service term in August.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

