jump to navigation

Betsy Vetor, AmeriCorps VISTA Alum, Recognized for Service Award July 16, 2013

Posted by servicecorpsnews in Alumni Spotlight.
trackback

Betsy Vetor, an alum of the AmeriCorps VISTA program who served the American Legion Auxiliary, was recently recognized with the President’s Volunteer Service Award for her volunteer work with the military community. The award thanks and honors Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. The program continues as an initiative of the Corporation for National and Community Service.

1. Where, when, and in what capacity did you serve as a member of the ALA Call to Service Corps?

I served as an AmeriCorps VISTA member in the ALA Call to Service Corps from August 2009-2010 at American Legion Auxiliary Headquarters in Indianapolis. I was in the Corps’ inaugural class. The position I held was in volunteer development.

2. What have you been doing since you left the ALA Call to Service Corps?

Immediately after ending my VISTA year, I was hired by the American Legion Auxiliary as an administrative assistant. My husband, an active duty servicemember, and I then moved to San Antonio, Texas, in May 2011. I quickly joined the Brooke Army Medical Center (BAMC) Auxiliary, a non-profit military spouse organization operating in support of the Fort Sam Houston community. I served as the membership chair for two years and now serve as the third Vice President in charge of programs.

Editor’s Note: The BAMC Auxiliary holds monthly events and service projects that encourage friendships and support among military families. It also raises funds for various BAMC and Fort Sam Houston organizations including the Fisher House, Warrior and Family Support Center, the Center for the Intrepid, and other departments within the BAMC organization.

3. Do you have any thoughts on the ALA Call to Service Corps, AmeriCorps, public service generally, or any other topic that you’d like to share with our readership?

I definitely benefited from serving as an AmeriCorps VISTA member in the ALA Call to Service Corps, as it helped me learn the ins and outs of a non-profit. Also, I made some pretty great friends through my time there. I think that AmeriCorps as a whole is doing some wonderful things for our nation, and it’s a program that I am happy to be associated with.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

